5.5

Calvin was still unconscious when Jerret checked on him nearing nighttime. It had only been one day and the girl had spent the entire time watching videos silently in her room, which had proven a blessing. He took the quiet time to take inventory of their food since he didn’t know how to ask the computer. The situation was not good. They were floating in empty space with nobody to fly the ship and only enough food for a little over a week if he stretched it.

Calvin clearly hadn’t planned on still having passengers when he restocked, and Jerret couldn’t help but wonder exactly when he’d changed his mind about everything. There was no asking him until he woke up though, and there was no telling when that would happen.

The floor cleaning robot appeared and swirled around his foot, vacuuming up a tiny crumb and scurrying off down the corridor. It seemed to hesitate at Jessie’s door and instead ducked into the room where Calvin slept.

The girl appeared as if on cue and tiptoed down the hallway to the kitchen. She sat across from Jerret at the tiny table and spread her arms out on the table, sighing loudly.

“Something wrong?” Jerret pulled his arms back as she spread out.

“When’s Mr. Calvin gonna wake up? I want to go home.”

“I dunno, kiddo, hopefully soon.”

“Misa’s gonna be really mad at me for causing so much trouble.”

“This isn’t your fault.”

She looked up at him with a frown, “It’s cause I changed even though Misa told me not too.”

“I… that’s…” Jerret looked away, “This Misa is your dad, right?”

Jessie nodded, and he could tell she was playing with the data pendant under the table.

“Well he told you not to change because he wants to keeps you safe from bad people. It’s not that what you do is bad…”

“What bad people?”

“There are people who like to… hurt people like us. Shifters.” He sighed a little. Whoever her father was, he was keeping Jessie very sheltered from reality.

“But there’s no bad people here, and I still caused  a bunch of trouble.”

“That’s really complicated… It’s not your fault though and I’m sure your dad will understand.” Jerret sat back uncomfortably, the girl was looking ready to start crying already and he wasn’t sure how to deal with that.

“It’s not complicated, I’m nothing but trouble cause I’m weird and he’s gonna want to get rid of me even more and now he can because of this stupid thing.” She threw the pendant across the room and it pinged harmlessly off the wall.

“Get rid of you?” Jerret asked, as she got up and retrieved the pendant, sticking it in her pocket again.

“He’s always talking about finding my real parents… but why would that matter? I want to be with him but he probably just wants to give me back so I stop being his problem.” She sat down gloomily, burying her head in her arms on the table.

“I don’t think that’s why…”

“Why else then? He doesn’t want me cause I’m messed up and always get into trouble. The only reason he didn’t give me back already is cause he couldn’t find them.”

“I… uh…” Jerret scratched the back of his head and tried to think of a convincing response. The girl stood up instead and and headed back for into the hallway, pausing in the doorway.

“Nevermind, it’s okay… I want him to be happy anyways. It’s for the best.” She retreated back into her room and the door shut.

“I need to get off this god’s-forsaken ship.” Jerret got up as well and went into Calvin’s room to check on him again. The wound was still clean and he seemed to be sleeping peacefully. Jerret sat down in the chair next to the bed, “Will you hurry and wake up already? I don’t know how to deal with kids, especially girls.” He watched the man breathe a few times but nothing changed. The computer screen next to the door turned on suddenly and started flashing the number two.

“I don’t know what that means, do I need to do something?” He asked, knowing full well the computer couldn’t understand him.

“Two Days left.” The screen flashed again.

“Two days left till what? Are we running out of air? Water?” If he didn’t know better he would have sworn the entire ship let out an exasperated groan at that point. The screen flashed a picture of a man in bed, then of the same man sitting up, “He’ll wake up in two days?”

The screen showed a big check mark that could have been green or yellow.

“I guess that’s good news… if it’s true.” Jerret frowned at the screen but it had turned itself off again. He could only hope it was true and they could land somewhere safe where he could stretch his legs for a bit. Usually even vagrant roundups didn’t keep him trapped for this long.

Leave a Reply

